I had tried many of these vegan chocolates out of curiosity and was pleasantly surprised at the quality and taste of these products – it’s clear great advancements are being made in the vegan food industry!
So what are the best vegan chocolates that melt? The best vegan chocolates that melt easily have the same ingredients as your favorite dairy cocoa: cocoa beans, sugar cane, and cocoa butter.
No matter if you’re lactose intolerant, vegan, or just seeking out more intriguing and healthy snacks, increasing numbers of vegan chocolate-based vegan products appear on the market; it’s easier for you to indulge your sweet craving!
Melting chocolate is generally available in chips, discs, or slabs. Most of the time, you can purchase the chocolate in bars. Chocolate bars are tempered, so there is a chance they will go streaky when melted.
Finally, we’ll look at the most delicious vegan melting chocolates you can easily find on the internet.
Today, we’ll examine chocolate and the ingredients used in its creation, then discuss its vegan equivalent and what makes it a vegan product.
5 Best Vegan Chocolates For Melting
Here are my top 5 vegan chocolates for melting that are easily accessible on the market in 2022!
|Theo Pure Organic And Vegan Dark Chocolate||Best overall vegan chocolate for melting.|
|Taza Almond Milk Classic Chocolate Bar||Made using almond milk.|
|Taza 95% Dark Chocolate Bar||It doesn’t contain any gluten or GMOs.|
|Hu Dark Chocolate Vegan Gems||100% organic.|
|Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Vegan Chocolate Chips||Best bulk option.|
1. Theo Pure Organic And Vegan Dark Chocolate
This is my top choice as this dark chocolate is not only entirely vegan but is also made from solely ethical and organic trade-certified ingredients.
It is made of cocoa beans, sugar cane, and butter.
The chocolate is typically sold in 3-ounce chocolate bars but is also available in different sizes.
It is an excellent method of testing vegan chocolate before purchasing large quantities. It also makes it much easier to measure out and also easier to store for later.
Another thing I appreciate is the high amount of dark chocolate they state is in the product – about 70%!
It might seem like a piece of useless information to have, but anything that is between 65% and 99% is believed to be dark chocolate, and believe me when I say they come with totally different tastes.
2. Taza Almond Milk Classic Chocolate Bar
Taza is a great brand, especially if you’re looking for flavor-infused vegan chocolates. They’re among the most known brands out there for these products.
The almond milk chocolate bar is created of coconut sugar, cocoa butter, cacao beans, blanched almond flour, sunflower, lecithin, and sea salt.
Although you might worry this chocolate has a strong almond taste, it doesn’t, and I would suggest it for any kind of recipe.
This is a 100% organic, plant-based, vegan, non-GMO chocolatier. Chocolate bars that are individually packaged can be an excellent opportunity to try the taste before committing to large amounts that melting chocolates are generally sold in.
3. Taza 95% Dark Chocolate Bar
Yes, another bar by Taza has made it to this list! This time it’s a bar with incredibly dark chocolate, perfect for making dark chocolate cakes and decadent brownies.
It’s still vegan chocolate made of only organic ingredients. It does not contain gluten or GMOs.
It is, in my opinion, the most “melty” chocolate from this variety of bars.
Taza also offers these bars in various flavors, including more sweet options if you don’t want such a high percentage of cocoa/a bar of chocolate that’s not so dark.
They offer 60% toffee, almond, and sea salt flavor bars and a 70% Coconut flavor chocolate bar. There are three other options; however, regardless of your choice, they are equally delicious!
4. Hu Dark Chocolate Chocolate Vegan Gems
This is another fantastic vegan chocolate available in smaller bags of 9 ounces.
But, you can buy boxes of 3 or 6 for bulk purchase and a budget-friendly choice.
This chocolate has always been a favorite since, unlike other melting chocolates, this one is incredibly delicious to eat plain.
It is not only non-GMO and vegan; it’s also wholly bio-based! The ingredients used in this chocolate are organic cacao, coconut (which is organic and unrefined sugar), and organic fair-trade cocoa butter.
These delectable gems can be melted and then incorporated into various recipes or used for sauces to drizzle.
5. Enjoy Life Semi-Sweet Vegan Chocolate Chips
This is the most effective mass-melting vegan chocolate in the marketplace.
When looking for vegan chocolate, you will find that most are either flavored or only available in small amounts. Happily, Enjoy Life has made genuine chocolate chips that melt properly and sells 5 or 50-pound bags.
It’s a great product if you want to use it often and is less expensive than other brands.
This choice is semi-sweet, but they also offer dark chocolate mini chips. Semi-sweet chocolate is around 60% cocoa and contains both milky sweetness and the bitterness of dark chocolate.
The chocolate comprises three main vegan ingredients: Cane sugar, non-alcoholic chocolate liquor, and non-dairy chocolate butter.
Buyer’s Guide For Vegan Melting Chocolate
There are a few points to consider to help you select the best vegan melting chocolate.
Most importantly, take a look at the ingredients in the chocolate. If it’s just “dairy-free,” it doesn’t necessarily mean vegan. Sometimes, dairy-free chocolates use honey as a sweetener, making the product non-vegan.
Always look for labels that clearly say ‘Vegan.’ You can also examine the list of ingredients on the back of the label to confirm that ALL the ingredients are dairy-free and vegan.
The next step is determining if you’re purchasing or using chocolate that melts well. The first giveaway, believe it or not, is the price cost.
Melting chocolate is regarded as less expensive because it is not processed.
Chocolate that has been tempered is much more costly because it is processed to create an appealing and attractive appearance. Tempered chocolate is also prone to cracking when it is broken.
Melting chocolate can have a dull, mottled, and sometimes streaky appearance. It isn’t cracked when it is broken. The streaks that appear are caused by fats that aren’t appropriately incorporated into the cocoa.
Chocolate is usually marked as melting chocolate if it is so but never fear; normal/tempered chocolate bars will still melt.
Melting chocolate isn’t a lesser product compared to tempered chocolate. You could even temper it yourself! It’s just better chocolate in products that don’t require an attractive gloss.
Remember to examine the milk substitute used in any of these vegan chocolates as it may alter the flavor/taste slightly, and you’ll need to consider this if melting it to bake with/add to other recipes.
All About Chocolate
Chocolate is a complex subject to discuss in the face of so many experts, critics, and even self-proclaimed chocolatiers! To even ask a question can feel taboo as there are so many opinions and information out there today.
With many health concerns today, there are quite a few questions to be asked when choosing your chocolates – Are they vegan? Does it contain gluten? Does it contain dairy?
When you have to sort through a myriad of sources is almost impossible to find a clear answer!
But that is why I’m here today – hopefully, I can make this melted chocolate muddled all a bit clearer. We’ll be able to clarify everything chocolate, and, more specifically, we’ll take on the vegan aspect of chocolate.
There are three kinds of chocolate: white chocolate, milk chocolate, and dark chocolate. Each one has somewhat different ingredients and different proportions.
Ingredients That Make Chocolate
Chocolate is made up of cocoa (or cacao), chocolate butter, sugar, and dairy solids.
The cocoa component of chocolate is created from cocoa beans, cocoa masses, or cocoa solids.
Each of them is made all from the same bean; they’re only different versions. The main ingredient is totally vegan, no matter the way it is made.
Sugar can also be a plant-based product (depending upon the producer) and adds sweetness to the chocolate.
White chocolate contains the most sugar, whereas dark chocolate contains the lowest amount of sugar. The higher the chocolate percentage, the lower amount of sugar it has.
Cocoa butter comes from fat that comes from the cocoa bean. This means that it is 100% vegan and dairy-free despite its name. Cocoa butter is the one cacao product that is used to make white chocolate since it comes in a white hue.
The addition of milk is what makes chocolate non-vegan.
Milk additions come in various forms, including the dried powder of milk, powdered milk, or whole milk dried – regardless of their state, they are animal-derived products. Therefore, they are not vegan-friendly.
Non-Dairy Melting Chocolate
This is where it gets a bit mind-blowing: Pure chocolate is vegan and dairy-free, meaning it doesn’t contain any animal products in any way! Can you wrap your head around that; chocolate actually is vegan!
So why do almost all chocolates contain milk solids? It’s because it enhances the sweetness and gives a smooth texture to the bar. This is why many have created non-dairy chocolates that use mylk (a milk alternative).
The dairy-free milk options on the market now have a wide variety – From Rice milk, Coconut milk, Almond milk, and Oat milk to Cashew and Soya milk. Remember that these kinds of milk typically give their distinctive flavor to chocolate bars.